Changes up ahead…

Standard

So it’s been some time since my last post, and I wanted to check back in and let you all know some news…

Remember my recent post “It’s not you, it’s me”? Where I mentioned I was feeling the itch to look for a new job? That was in January. It’s August now. Yikes, I really can’t believe that we’re 2/3 of the way through this year already!!

Well, a bit has happened since then. I did end up switching jobs. I took on a role as HR Manager at a local company and have been here a few months already. It’s a great company – the leadership, the culture, the work/life balance couldn’t be more different than the one I just left. I actually have the time now to do projects and overhaul processes that make a difference in the company (just finished the new handbook last week, harassment training is up next 😊). I’ve been dealing with performance issues, employee investigations, and more. This is exactly the type of HR I love to do.

So, why do I feel restless? 

Good question. It’s a great company, nice people, making more money, doing the type of HR work I like. 

And yet, I feel that I want something more. Something different. Something that doesn’t tie me to a desk, to a Monday-Friday, 8-5 PM schedule where I feel like I don’t have flexibility to live my life. 

It’s weird, I’ve always thought I would be in a normal professional career. I went to school, got my degree, and every job I’ve had since has been in an HR office setting. But for some reason, this most recent job change hasn’t filled my hunger like I thought it would. Which is disappointing because I was so excited when I got the job. My work had turned stale and boring, and this new opportunity just felt perfect. Yes, I know it’s still early, I’ve only been here a few months, but being a big picture thinker, I’ve always projected out into the future, and I’m not sure what I see there.

Fitness is something I’ve always been passionate about. I grew up being an athlete – volleyball and track and playing HORSE with my brother in the driveway. My dad would go running or biking every day. Our family vacations centered around activity – camping and hiking… so when I think about what I naturally gravitate towards, it’s THAT. 

Years ago, when I really started to amp up my social media presence, I was bombarded with people reaching out about fitness coaching. (Yes, roll your eyes lol) And I always said, no thanks. I was always the one thinking, but there are SO MANY people doing this already, how would I be any different? How would I not be “just another one of those coaches” who talks about programs and supplements and shakes?

Well, the answer is simple. I AM DIFFERENT. My voice and energy is unlike any other coach out there, and I feel I can use that to set myself apart. So last week, I chose to make the jump and sign up. My upline coach/mentor is a girl I’ve been Instagram friends with for awhile and she lives in Minnesota (where I grew up), and has been doing this almost a decade. So when I look for credibility and longevity in this business, I look at her and see that it can be done. 

So why now? Why all of a sudden?

Well, a big part of it is my son. He just turned 1 – yay for getting through the first year! – and I want to spend time with him, take him to the park, all those things that come with being a mom. Now, to be clear, I DO NOT want to be a stay-at-home-mom. I want to have a job, make money, contribute to our household. But I also want to have the flexibility to be home with him on a random Tuesday if I want. And I feel like this desire will only get stronger when we have baby number 2. Which is maybe coming sooner than I think.

So, I guess the conclusion I’ve really come to is that if I don’t work for a company that allows flexibility to work where I want, I need to work for myself. And with fitness coaching, I see so many others doing just that. Being their own boss, working when and where they want, with WHO they want. 

So here’s my goal. I’m giving myself 6 months. Half a year to get this going and see if I can actually make money doing this. If I actually enjoy it. 

If not, that’s okay. That means at least I tried it and it wasn’t what I thought it would be. 

So guys, wish me luck, because I have ZERO idea if it’s gonna work. I’m a little scared, but mostly excited at the potential it could turn into. Send lots of prayers and lots of coffee. Here goes nothing. 

 

 

Leave a comment